Welcome to the JaguarPC Community
JaguarPC
Sales: (888) 338-5261
Support: (888)-551-3050
Results 1 to 4 of 4

This is a discussion on Bot Herders Ready Attack Against phpBB Message Forums in the Open Discussion & Chit-chat forum
Source: http://www.informationweek.com/news/...=Breaking+News The SANS Institute's Internet Storm Center noted that a bot going by the name "FuntKlakow" has registered on thousands of phpBB forums. Botnet ...

  1. #1
    Yeah, I know a LOT! Vin DSL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona Uplands
    Posts
    10,775

    Exclamation Bot Herders Ready Attack Against phpBB Message Forums

    Source: http://www.informationweek.com/news/...=Breaking+News

    The SANS Institute's Internet Storm Center noted that a bot going by the name "FuntKlakow" has registered on thousands of phpBB forums.

    Botnet controllers may be planning a large-scale attack against message forums, TechWeb has learned...

    "We might be chasing a ghost here but it's always good to be on the lookout for something like this," wrote Sachs in an alert on the ISC site Sunday...

    A Google search for "FuntKlakow" suggested that the bot may have created accounts on more than 36,000 forums. Some of the forums show messages such as "Oh, how nice" and "Wow, I didn't think of that."
    DISCLAIMER Any resemblance between the views expressed above and those of the owners and operators of this system is purely coincidental. Any resemblance between these views and my own are non-deterministic. The existence of Vin DSL is questionable. The existence of views in the absence of anyone to hold them is problematic. The existence of the reader is left as an exercise in the second-order coefficient.

    No Guts, No Story! VinDSL © 2010

  2. #2
    Ron
    Ron is offline
    Loyal Client
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    7,304
    Quite a large number of registrations lately, mostly coming from China IPs. I have CAPTHCA enabled, so either they've broken CAPTHCA or they have a boatload of 50c a day workers registering on forums and posting on forums.

    I believe that the posters may be humans because I've enabled some non-standard phpbb tactics that they overcome as well. Either that or they have a flexcible bot that they can assign sepecial attributes to for just my site, and that wouldn't seem very time efficient to me. But what do I know?

  3. #3
    Yeah, I know a LOT! Vin DSL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona Uplands
    Posts
    10,775
    Source: http://area51.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewto...d=&f=6&t=22880

    Keep and eye out for cepelin and budowa_cepa.

    They are playing the same game.
    FuntKlakow, Cepelin and perhaps budowa_cepa are people you don't want on your messageboard.

    You can (I did):
    Delete these users, and Disallow their names
    Username: FuntKlakow
    Username: Cepelin
    (budowa_cepa did not hit my board)

    Disallow their email addresses
    FuntKlakow Email:
    funtklakow@socialinfohub.com
    Cepelin Email:
    speluna@poczta.onet.pl

    Disallow their IP addresses
    FuntKlakow IP Address:
    212.186.84.12
    (Cepelin IP Address not yet posted here)

    And verify that you have visual confirmation enabled.

    I also noticed that I had a new Style called FI Black. I am certain I didn't install it. I deleted it.
    As for FI Black. I believe a while back there was an exploit where they would install that style. What version are you using? Sounds like you may be using an older version that has been hacked.
    DISCLAIMER Any resemblance between the views expressed above and those of the owners and operators of this system is purely coincidental. Any resemblance between these views and my own are non-deterministic. The existence of Vin DSL is questionable. The existence of views in the absence of anyone to hold them is problematic. The existence of the reader is left as an exercise in the second-order coefficient.

    No Guts, No Story! VinDSL © 2010

  4. #4
    Yeah, I know a LOT! Vin DSL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona Uplands
    Posts
    10,775
    I just Google'd 'FuntKlakow'... 270,000 results...

    http://www.google.com/search?&q=FuntKlakow
    DISCLAIMER Any resemblance between the views expressed above and those of the owners and operators of this system is purely coincidental. Any resemblance between these views and my own are non-deterministic. The existence of Vin DSL is questionable. The existence of views in the absence of anyone to hold them is problematic. The existence of the reader is left as an exercise in the second-order coefficient.

    No Guts, No Story! VinDSL © 2010

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •