Welcome to the JaguarPC Community
JaguarPC
Sales: (888) 338-5261
Support: (888)-551-3050
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

This is a discussion on coastwebtech in the Open Discussion & Chit-chat forum
While checking my latest visa bill I came across a charge from Coastal Web Solutions. Never heard of them so I did a quick web ...

  1. #1
    JPC Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    35

    coastwebtech

    While checking my latest visa bill I came across a charge from Coastal Web Solutions. Never heard of them so I did a quick web search and found many other complaints of fraudulent charges from them recently. The only link I can find between them and me...their web site www.coastwebtech.com is hosted by Jag! I'm not saying they managed to hack into Jags billing system but thought I'd mention it for others to watch out for...

    edit- I shouldn't say hosted by Jag, I should say registered by jag...
    Last edited by heeljeff; 01-30-2008 at 08:21 PM. Reason: clarification

  2. #2
    Yeah, I know a LOT! Vin DSL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona Uplands
    Posts
    10,775
    Hrm...

    Well, this is certainly different!

    They aren't hosted by JagPC, but they do use JagPC for their Registrar...

    Let me do a little more sleuthing!
    DISCLAIMER Any resemblance between the views expressed above and those of the owners and operators of this system is purely coincidental. Any resemblance between these views and my own are non-deterministic. The existence of Vin DSL is questionable. The existence of views in the absence of anyone to hold them is problematic. The existence of the reader is left as an exercise in the second-order coefficient.

    No Guts, No Story! VinDSL © 2010

  3. #3
    the Windlord Gwaihir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,562
    Are you sure that company is making the fraudulent charges? I found a report indicating that it is a victim in this matter too, having its name abused: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/...Off0303536.htm
    Regards,

    Wim Heemskerk
    ---
    Visit MeCCG.net - Cardgaming in J.R.R. Tolkien's Middle-earth
    And Gwaihir.net - The Middle-earth CCG store

  4. #4
    JPC Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    35
    The charge on my account reads "COASTAL WEB SOLUTIONS 760-994-4853 CA" so it definitely looks like http://www.coastwebtech.com/

  5. #5
    JPC Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    35

    Update

    An update on this...credit card company called today, inquiring about a possible fraudulent charge to my account, and sure enough, an unauthorized charge of 4.95 was made by Synergetic Experts, AKA Synergetic-design.com. And hey..they're also registered by Jag! They're most likely the same bunch of crooks...same website except for the company name...just an fyi.

  6. #6
    Loyal Client the_ancient's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3,386
    Quote Originally Posted by heeljeff View Post
    An update on this...credit card company called today, inquiring about a possible fraudulent charge to my account, and sure enough, an unauthorized charge of 4.95 was made by Synergetic Experts, AKA Synergetic-design.com. And hey..they're also registered by Jag! They're most likely the same bunch of crooks...same website except for the company name...just an fyi.
    What is your beef? JPC is merely the registration service Provider, they have nothing to do with the domain name, the name is owned by

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    John Fawkes ()
    +1.2152611881
    Fax: -
    5756 Dalhart Dr
    El Paso, TX 79924
    US

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    The domain was mere bought at http://www.aletianic.com/ which is JPC domain registration service....

    contact the owner of the name, this has nothing to do with JPC, as you have been told
    -------------------------
    the_ancient
    MP Technology Group

  7. #7
    JPC Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by the_ancient View Post
    What is your beef? JPC is merely the registration service Provider, they have nothing to do with the domain name, the name is owned by

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    John Fawkes ()
    +1.2152611881
    Fax: -
    5756 Dalhart Dr
    El Paso, TX 79924
    US

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    The domain was mere bought at http://www.aletianic.com/ which is JPC domain registration service....

    contact the owner of the name, this has nothing to do with JPC, as you have been told
    Sheesh relax.
    Told by who?
    My beef is that they're a bunch of frauds. Is this not acceptable in the Open Discussion forum??

  8. #8
    Loyal Client the_ancient's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3,386
    Quote Originally Posted by heeljeff View Post
    Sheesh relax.
    Told by who?
    My beef is that they're a bunch of frauds. Is this not acceptable in the Open Discussion forum??
    I never relax, I will be able to relax when I am dead.... maybe...

    And I am sure they are a fraud, but your post implies they are some how affiliated with JPC or that JPC can do something about it, neither is true
    -------------------------
    the_ancient
    MP Technology Group

  9. #9
    Ron
    Ron is offline
    Loyal Client
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    7,304
    There outta be a way for an eNom reseller to say "(Please) Take your business elsewhere" so they aren't associated with scammers.
    Good luck

  10. #10
    Loyal Client the_ancient's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3,386
    Quote Originally Posted by Ron View Post
    There outta be a way for an eNom reseller to say "(Please) Take your business elsewhere" so they aren't associated with scammers.
    Well this is a slippery slope....


    GoDaddy has gotten LOTS of bad press, and it is one of the reasons why I refuse to do business with them, for arbitrally suspending domains reported as "spammer" or "scammer"

    JPC or any registrar has ZERO way to verify any of the information about a potential Scammer or spammer.

    Now if they were a HOSTING cleint of JPC then they would have access to data they could use to verify the claims and take action according

    How would you like it if you made someone mad online and then in turn reported you as a scammer or Spammer to Enom, whom in turn just suspended your domain name soley on some forum post or email?

    This is NOT something registration companies should be doing.. the ONLY time they should get involved is when the NAME is the problem, i.e Trademark Violations, Copyright Violations, etc......
    Last edited by the_ancient; 06-10-2008 at 07:55 PM.
    -------------------------
    the_ancient
    MP Technology Group

  11. #11
    Ron
    Ron is offline
    Loyal Client
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    7,304
    I didn't say their account would be suspended. They can still have their eNom registration (and their login directly at enomcentral) just the Jaguar name would come off. If eNom then wants to deal with it --or not-- that's up to them.
    Good luck

  12. #12
    Loyal Client the_ancient's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3,386
    Quote Originally Posted by Ron View Post
    I didn't say their account would be suspended. They can still have their eNom registration (and their login directly at enomcentral) just the Jaguar name would come off. If eNom then wants to deal with it --or not-- that's up to them.
    but why?


    What proof do you have that John Fawkes, or synertec-designs is in in fact a scammer? other than some annonomus users posting that they are...

    so JPC should turn away business based on that? I suspect they would be out of business rather quickly if they followed your advice...
    -------------------------
    the_ancient
    MP Technology Group

  13. #13
    Ron
    Ron is offline
    Loyal Client
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    7,304
    I dunno, you have 2,300 posts. How many times have you seen this?
    Good luck

  14. #14
    Loyal Client the_ancient's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3,386
    Quote Originally Posted by Ron View Post
    I dunno, you have 2,300 posts. How many times have you seen this?
    ahhh I see, you feel "it is better to kill 1 innocent than let 10 guilty go free" , I feel "its is better to let 10 guilty go free than have 1 innocent convicted"

    Sorry, never going to agree with that...
    -------------------------
    the_ancient
    MP Technology Group

  15. #15
    Yeah, I know a LOT! Vin DSL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona Uplands
    Posts
    10,775
    Quote Originally Posted by the_ancient View Post
    I feel "its is better to let 10 guilty go free than have 1 innocent convicted"...
    Of, please...

    When's the last time you gave 1 innocent person a break?
    DISCLAIMER Any resemblance between the views expressed above and those of the owners and operators of this system is purely coincidental. Any resemblance between these views and my own are non-deterministic. The existence of Vin DSL is questionable. The existence of views in the absence of anyone to hold them is problematic. The existence of the reader is left as an exercise in the second-order coefficient.

    No Guts, No Story! VinDSL © 2010

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •