Welcome to the JaguarPC Community
JaguarPC
Sales: (888) 338-5261
Support: (888)-551-3050
Results 1 to 9 of 9

This is a discussion on Aletia-hosting.com - infringing on the real Aletia in the Open Discussion & Chit-chat forum
http://www.aletia-hosting.com what's going on here? don't stop at the misleading home page, go to the plans and see 1gig disk space, unlimited transfer, etc $5 ...

  1. #1
    JPC Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    3

    Aletia-hosting.com - check it out

    http://www.aletia-hosting.com
    what's going on here?
    don't stop at the misleading home page, go to the plans
    and see 1gig disk space, unlimited transfer, etc
    $5 per month/yr etc etc
    ???????

  2. #2
    Darth Admin (aka Jag) JPC-Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1998
    Posts
    5,201
    Im tired of trying to get thie idiot to stop his blatant breaking of the law. Time to call in the lawyers.
    Greg L. | Chief Executive Officer
    JaguarPC.com

    Helpful Links
    Knowledge Base | Network Status

    Need a Manager?
    (pm) | (email) David, Customer Service Manager
    (pm) | (email) Zach, Community Liason, Sales manager
    (pm) | (email) Masood, Chief Technical Officer
    (pm) | (email) Les, Chief Operations Officer

  3. #3
    JPC Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    4
    Wow, this is REALLY sleazy and underhanded! If ever a post was asking for intervention by the mods, this is it.

    Jag, I'd think you want to contact the registrar as well as the lawyers. You might also note that the address above is a bogus one. Aletia's actual site is at http://www.aletiahosting.com/

  4. #4
    Darth Admin (aka Jag) JPC-Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1998
    Posts
    5,201
    Its already been done. Ive contacted everyone remotely associated with that ISP, those dns servers, and every netblock using an IP related to the site or name servers. Since this is the second time this guy has done this it will be pursued as far as the law and our budget will allow.
    Greg L. | Chief Executive Officer
    JaguarPC.com

    Helpful Links
    Knowledge Base | Network Status

    Need a Manager?
    (pm) | (email) David, Customer Service Manager
    (pm) | (email) Zach, Community Liason, Sales manager
    (pm) | (email) Masood, Chief Technical Officer
    (pm) | (email) Les, Chief Operations Officer

  5. #5
    JPC Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    3
    Shadow, I think you're getting a little confused here

    My post is to *alert* aletia to this, AND the address was not bogus, it was real, with a real (copied) aletia site, word for word except the plans, ALL fraudulent.

    In fact I couldn't believe that I had stumbled on it, with it still operating.

    Jag, you might want to hit the s/e's too (if not already)
    for example, Google had it as the top-right of page *paid* listing today when the words "web site hosting" were searched on.

    Cheers

  6. #6
    Darth Admin (aka Jag) JPC-Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1998
    Posts
    5,201
    thanks, if you find more info relating to this site please post it here. We will be going for damages and if google doesnt pull the ad we will ad them to the list.

    http://www.google.com/url?q=http://A...ivMBBgwA&num=3



    I suspect this site is being used for identity theft.

    Their form to order is a simple formmail script.

    type="hidden" name="recipient" value="admin@superlines.net"

    Feel free to ask this guy why he is deliberatly trying to get sued.
    Greg L. | Chief Executive Officer
    JaguarPC.com

    Helpful Links
    Knowledge Base | Network Status

    Need a Manager?
    (pm) | (email) David, Customer Service Manager
    (pm) | (email) Zach, Community Liason, Sales manager
    (pm) | (email) Masood, Chief Technical Officer
    (pm) | (email) Les, Chief Operations Officer

  7. #7
    Rawr! kiwi li's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    471
    How mean... ;_; I hope that guy gets what he deserves... at least it seems that google pulled the ad...
    If you see me posting, there must be bad news. ^^

  8. #8
    JPC Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    4
    Champenois, I realize that the link you provided was a working one. It's still a bogus site in my book, but by that I meant a fraudulent one masquerading as the real McCoy. You may not agree with my wording, but we are both saying the same thing. Let's not split hairs over that.

    I think our main misunderstanding here came about from the fact that you did not include a comparison link to Aletia's own site in your initial post. In light of all the complaints before Jag stepped in as the new owners, some might read your phrase "misleading home page" as meaning Aletia's home page, rather than a fraudulent site. Read that way, your initial post seems designed to stir the pot more than to alert anyone of any offsite treachery. The thumbsdown emoticon further supports that interpretation. But read as if you were referring to a fraudulent site outside of Aletia, your post takes on the meaning that I believe you intended.

    In calling for the intervention of the mods, I wasn't really concerned with the intent of your post. What I was questioning was the appropriateness of posting that particular link, without a very clear explanation of what it was, in the forums. No need to confuse and upset people unnecessarily. Don't take this as an attack, I just think alerting Aletia in a more discreet manner, like email, would have been more appropriate.

    Anyway, now they know and have responded, so I guess it's a moot point. Let's hope they can catch the guy. I bet most of the registrar information is bogus, I mean fraudulent , as well.

  9. #9
    JPC Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    4
    The content you have requested is no longer available.
    For more information about DALnet, please click here.
    Looks like that site is offline already. That sure was quick!

    I'm impressed.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •