Welcome to the JaguarPC Community
JaguarPC
Sales: (888) 338-5261
Support: (888)-551-3050
Results 1 to 6 of 6

This is a discussion on eNom forging emails (WDRP) in the Resellers forum
My customers are getting emails which appear to be from me, but are being sent by eNom. They start with "This message is a reminder ...

  1. #1
    草分け
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Bellthorpe
    Posts
    214

    eNom forging emails (WDRP)

    My customers are getting emails which appear to be from me, but are being sent by eNom. They start with "This message is a reminder to help you keep the contact data associated with your domain registration up-to-date" and include a link to view WHOIS information at wdrp.name-services.com.

    I'm aware of the WDRP policy. But the point is, this is forged. It has my email address in the 'from' field, and finishes with:

    Sincerely,
    WDRP Compliance
    WAZU JAPAN

    I'm not arguing the goodness or badness of the policy, but I'm pretty pissed off that a 'reputable' company would forge emails, just as spammers do.

  2. #2
    Ron
    Ron is offline
    Loyal Client
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    7,306
    outrageous
    Good luck

  3. #3
    草分け
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Bellthorpe
    Posts
    214
    I'm getting more complaints from more customers.

    Does anyone else see this as an issue?

  4. #4
    Loyal Client
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Bellthorpe
    Posts
    214
    Just now getting another round of complaints from my customers. Enom continues to forge emails, pretending that they come from me when they don't.

  5. #5
    CTO JPC-Masood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Jaguar Servers
    Posts
    2,070
    Sounds like you are reselling domains via enom. Have you talked to enom about this? If your account is through us, please raise the issue via CS ticket with enom and see what they can do.

    If they cannot resolve it and it continues to create complaints for you customers you can move away from enom. There are plenty of domain registrars to choose from. JaguarPC's core business is not domain registration. We use enom for those clients' convenience who do not want to or do know how to go to another provider to register the domain. Once we have more APIs integrated into our billing system, we'll start offering more domain registrar choices.

    Masood N. | Chief Technical Officer
    JaguarPC.com


    Helpful Links
    Knowledge Base | Network Status

  6. #6
    Loyal Client
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Bellthorpe
    Posts
    214
    Masood, I've tried to discuss this with eNom, but to no avail.

    They are of course acting illegally. It is against the law to forge emails.

    I'm aware that I can change registrars. I did sign up through JPC because it gave me a better rate.

    Please note that my posting here is not to criticise JPC at all. I know you have no control over eNom, and simply provide account access as a side-benefit. I just want to warn others that eNom is breaking the law, acting unethically, and potentially pissing off customers of those who do re-sell registrar services.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •