Welcome to the JaguarPC Community
JaguarPC
Sales: (888) 338-5261
Support: (888)-551-3050
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

This is a discussion on siberia on spamcop blacklist? in the Shared & Semi-Dedicated forum
it seems that my server (69.73.172.20, siberia) has been listed on spamcop's blocking list http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?69.73.172.20 so some of my outgoing emails aren't getting through to ...

  1. #1
    JPC Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    5

    Unhappy siberia on spamcop blacklist?

    it seems that my server (69.73.172.20, siberia) has been listed on spamcop's blocking list

    http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?69.73.172.20

    so some of my outgoing emails aren't getting through to some recipients who use this blacklist.

    should i open a support ticket about this? or does someone at jaguar already watch for these and handle them?

    thanks!

  2. #2
    Wookiee JPC-Les's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    The Exogorths belly
    Posts
    1,265
    Yes we work hard to keep the servers clean but it looks like something snuck by. We are working on this issue.
    (pm) | (email) Les, Chief Operations Officer

    Need a Manager?
    (pm) | (email) David, Customer Service Manager
    (pm) | (email) Masood, Chief Technical Officer

    Helpful Links
    Knowledge Base | Network Status | Current Specials

  3. #3
    JPC Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    5
    thanks! you guys are the best.

  4. #4
    JPC Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    2
    It seems utopia.nocdirect.com has been blacklisted also, with AOL and Spamcop.

  5. #5
    Wookiee JPC-Les's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    The Exogorths belly
    Posts
    1,265
    Yes a spammer snuck onto uptopia with some false information. They have already been terminated and once the server (IP address) goes for a period of time with no reports spamcop will drop the listing.

    Thanks for your patience with this and the listing should be removed shortly.
    (pm) | (email) Les, Chief Operations Officer

    Need a Manager?
    (pm) | (email) David, Customer Service Manager
    (pm) | (email) Masood, Chief Technical Officer

    Helpful Links
    Knowledge Base | Network Status | Current Specials

  6. #6
    JPC Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    148

    hydrogen.nocdirect.com blocked too

    It looks like it must be the whole range of jag IP addresses. This is bad.

    -Doug

  7. #7
    Wookiee JPC-Les's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    The Exogorths belly
    Posts
    1,265
    Some SBLs do list the entire range. If you havent already please open a ticket and paste the bounce headers so we can ensure that we are working with the SBL owner to get the situation resolved.
    (pm) | (email) Les, Chief Operations Officer

    Need a Manager?
    (pm) | (email) David, Customer Service Manager
    (pm) | (email) Masood, Chief Technical Officer

    Helpful Links
    Knowledge Base | Network Status | Current Specials

  8. #8
    JPC Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    148
    Yea, a ticket has been opened.

  9. #9
    Yeah, I know a LOT! Vin DSL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona Uplands
    Posts
    10,775
    Quote Originally Posted by dwannall
    It looks like it must be the whole range of jag IP addresses...
    Um... Not really...

    Here' s my site:
    http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=bl...p=69.73.147.61

    http://www.senderbase.org/?searchBy=...7.61&showRBL=1

    Clean as of 20-Apr-2005...

    Having said that, I HAVE been blocked by SPEWS before - we ALL were. 'They' got so pissed at someone hosted here at JagPC, that 'they' black-listed everyone. Hopefully, THAT won't happen again. It was a real nightmare, getting unlisted; ask Jag!

    There's a thread discussing that whole sorted affair:
    SPAMMER Killing Everyone On JaguarPC by Zhen-Xjell
    Last edited by Vin DSL; 04-20-2005 at 12:27 PM.
    DISCLAIMER Any resemblance between the views expressed above and those of the owners and operators of this system is purely coincidental. Any resemblance between these views and my own are non-deterministic. The existence of Vin DSL is questionable. The existence of views in the absence of anyone to hold them is problematic. The existence of the reader is left as an exercise in the second-order coefficient.

    No Guts, No Story! VinDSL © 2010

  10. #10
    JPC Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    148
    Vin, You might be right, but it's at least 4 of Jags servers got f'd.

    The question is whether 69.73.147.137 is being blocked since that (not 69.73.147.61) is the IP of your "e-mail server".

    -Doug

  11. #11
    Yeah, I know a LOT! Vin DSL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona Uplands
    Posts
    10,775
    Quote Originally Posted by dwannall
    Vin, You might be right, but it's at least 4 of Jags servers got f'd.

    The question is whether 69.73.147.137 is being blocked since that (not 69.73.147.61) is the IP of your "e-mail server".

    -Doug
    Heh! Good catch!

    Actually, I'm on Neutron. I think the IP is 69.73.146.203


    http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=ch...=69.73.146.203

    http://www.senderbase.org/search?sea...=69.73.146.203

    Still clear...
    DISCLAIMER Any resemblance between the views expressed above and those of the owners and operators of this system is purely coincidental. Any resemblance between these views and my own are non-deterministic. The existence of Vin DSL is questionable. The existence of views in the absence of anyone to hold them is problematic. The existence of the reader is left as an exercise in the second-order coefficient.

    No Guts, No Story! VinDSL © 2010

  12. #12
    Yeah, I know a LOT! Vin DSL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona Uplands
    Posts
    10,775
    Quote Originally Posted by bunnyhero
    it seems that my server (69.73.172.20, siberia) has been listed on spamcop's blocking list

    http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?69.73.172.20
    Look like you're clean now...
    DISCLAIMER Any resemblance between the views expressed above and those of the owners and operators of this system is purely coincidental. Any resemblance between these views and my own are non-deterministic. The existence of Vin DSL is questionable. The existence of views in the absence of anyone to hold them is problematic. The existence of the reader is left as an exercise in the second-order coefficient.

    No Guts, No Story! VinDSL © 2010

  13. #13
    JPC Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    148
    WooHoo, looks like Hydrogen is now "un" blacklisted.

  14. #14
    || $name ne 'R.Stiltskin'
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Tejas
    Posts
    2,438
    Passive Spam Block List (PSBL) still had utopia listed last night and early this morning. I've already added some info for Jag's research (they've researched the issue) and I manually removed utopia from that particular database. As for others, it will just be a matter of time until the cached data gets purged and SMTP resorts to normal. It would seem that Jaguar hit a pretty good speed bump and the shocks are still reverberatiing.

    I've been a fan of blacklisting database services but they need to be as responsive during de-listing as they are during listing. Quick blocking with delayed and arbitrary "corrections" isn't a particularly pleasant solution. $#%@*&!

  15. #15
    || $name ne 'R.Stiltskin'
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Tejas
    Posts
    2,438
    It seems utopia has returned to normal. Jag's spammer-account termination and the dynamic cache purging from blacklisting services have run their course. All in all, a slight inconvenience that could have been much worse. Kudos to Jaguar for quick action to mitigate this inevitability.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •