Welcome to the JaguarPC Community
JaguarPC
Sales: (888) 338-5261
Support: (888)-551-3050
Results 1 to 4 of 4

This is a discussion on Yahoo - Blacklist or Regular Bounce? in the Shared & Semi-Dedicated forum
I've been getting a lot of bounces from Yahoo recently from emails sent by a Jaguar server. They don't say that it is spam, whereas ...

  1. #1
    Loyal Client
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    159

    Yahoo - Blacklist or Regular Bounce?

    I've been getting a lot of bounces from Yahoo recently from emails sent by a Jaguar server.

    They don't say that it is spam, whereas my Comcast bounces say we are on the blacklist (fyi - most/much of Jaguar email is blacklisted by Comcast and has been so for five months or longer, eg any time your forum sends a message to confirm a user it fails).

    I'm wondering if this is because Jaguar is on the Yahoo blacklist or is it just a bounced email?

    It's been only Yahoo email addresses bouncing, and perhaps 20 of them, which is suspicious.

    This is the message I get:


    "This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

    A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
    recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

    emailaddress@yahoo.com
    retry timeout exceeded
    "

  2. #2
    Yeah, I know a LOT! Vin DSL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona Uplands
    Posts
    10,775
    Go run your mail/IP against the RBLs...

    http://openrbl.org/client/

  3. #3
    Loyal Client the_ancient's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3,386
    Quote Originally Posted by akreider2 View Post
    (fyi - most/much of Jaguar email is blacklisted by Comcast and has been so for five months or longer, eg any time your forum sends a message to confirm a user it fails).
    Are you sure the Server is black listed? If it is Tell support so they can have it removed (or try to) from the black list.

    Alot of ISP however are going to a Reverse Email look up, Where the From address is checked to see if it is a Real address, i.e your mail server properly responds to that address, if you using something like "no-reply@dadadaaa.com" that is routed to Fail, Blackhole, bounce etc, it is very possible that the ISP will merely drop the email as spam...
    -------------------------
    the_ancient
    MP Technology Group

  4. #4
    Ron
    Ron is offline
    Loyal Client
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    7,307
    Ancient needs a vacation. Retry happens on a temporary error not a permanent failure like a bad return address.

    I sned to the .mac domain and it has been throwing "452-try later" intermittantly for the last couple of weeks. It's really annoying to be getting 100 messages like "this is from exim,warning, this message has been delayed for 48 hours" then a day later "message failed: retry timeout exceeded. error message blah @ mac.com: 452 try later"
    Good luck

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •