Welcome to the JaguarPC Community
JaguarPC
Sales: (888) 338-5261
Support: (888)-551-3050
Results 1 to 8 of 8

This is a discussion on Spam relayed through Mercury? in the Shared & Semi-Dedicated forum
(Posting here because I can't get to the support page for some reason or another...) When tracing the path of this recently-received spam, I noticed ...

  1. #1
    JPC Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    18

    Question Spam relayed through Mercury?

    (Posting here because I can't get to the support page for some reason or another...)

    When tracing the path of this recently-received spam, I noticed that it appeared to have been relayed through 66.227.76.132, which is the IP address of my Mercury-hosted website. I didn't see any weird spike in bandwidth usage, but I'm still concerned because none of the other mail (even spam) sent to my email address is routed in such a manner. Is some sleazeball abusing Mercury as an open relay?

    Here are the relevant headers. If anyone really wants to see it, I can post the full set.

    ------
    Received: from [210.82.175.140] (helo=66.227.76.132) by mercury.nocdirect.com with smtp (Exim 4.20) id 19tBOg-0008OT-NF for rydain@rydain.org; Sat, 30 Aug 2003 14:28:32 -0500
    Received: from s6.hyl2ae.com [130.115.63.200] by 66.227.76.132 SMTP id 266r1hF5PAHCln; Sun, 31 Aug 2003 00:18:49 +0400
    ------

  2. #2
    JPC Guru Zhen-Xjell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    432
    That may not be a good thing and hopefully it doesn't get sent to SPEWS if its true.
    Microsoft MVP Windows-Security 2005
    CastleCops | Cuddles 'n Kisses | Just a little poke | Zhen-Xjell

  3. #3
    Community Leader jason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    6,003
    Without seeing the full headers, its hard to say waht's going on for sure, but it looks like the Mercury reference may be the final point of contact. Is your site on Mercury? If so, then the spam has to go there in order to get to you.

    --Jason
    Jason Pitoniak
    Interbrite Communications
    www.interbrite.com www.kodiakskorner.com

  4. #4
    Just Walking...
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    436
    Through a recent exchange with support I learnt that they've turned off smtp authentication on at least one server. Best I could understand, (they were vague) it was due to a CP bug that had caused it to stop working correctly. I'm fairly suprised by this, because it allows anyone to send mail, spam or otherwise through the servers without having an account.

  5. #5
    JPC Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    18
    jason: As I mentioned in my original post, this sort of routing doesn't show up in the headers of any other email I receive, which is why I'm concerned.

    G.Bloke: That scares me. I just mentioned it in my reply to the support ticket regarding this issue.

    In general: I got another spam with my IP address in it. Here are its full headers:

    ----------
    From: - Mon Sep 8 14:55:00 2003
    X-UIDL: 9021f107a98f508189315a4f5ca111f2
    X-Mozilla-Status: 0001
    X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
    Return-path: <8hfuvxuyk@hotmail.com>
    Envelope-to: rydain@rydain.org
    Delivery-date: Mon, 08 Sep 2003 13:53:37 -0500
    Received: from [61.232.226.25] (helo=66.227.76.132) by mercury.nocdirect.com with smtp (Exim 4.20) id 19wR8q-0005GO-9W for rydain@rydain.org; Mon, 08 Sep 2003 13:53:36 -0500
    Received: from [194.215.248.81] by 66.227.76.132 id 1vQAbQN877pu; Tue, 09 Sep 2003 03:50:03 -0700
    Message-ID: <32u8$8u$510-z-d-28u-w78fhc@skfio.q7.1r.rq>
    From: Ruby Gary <8hfuvxuyk@hotmail.com>
    Reply-To: Ruby Gary <8hfuvxuyk@hotmail.com>
    To: <rydain@rydain.org>
    Subject: Newest Medical Center Online is Now Open qmjsm cxfu d
    Date: Tue, 09 Sep 03 03:50:03 GMT
    X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 5.00.2919.6700
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="04FE.DBEBDC5_"
    X-Priority: 3
    X-MSMail-Priority: Normal

  6. #6
    JPC Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    37
    is mercury down for anyone else? My site is down as far as I can see, and I can't get e-mail or login to control panel.

    Just curious.


    ...AND I guess I was just kidding...it's back up. Sorry for the false alarm...

  7. #7
    Community Leader jason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    6,003
    It looks like you are dealing with someone using forged headers. I did a lookup on the IP addresses listed in the "Received" headers, and this is what I found:

    194.215.248.81 - RIPE
    66.227.76.132 - JPC
    61.232.226.25 - APNIC

    RIPE is the body in charge of allocating Internet resources to much of Europe, the Middle East, Asia, and Africa.

    APNIC allocates Internet resources to the Asia-Pacific region.

    I doubt either of these bodies would knowingly be sending you spam...

    One thing that I found particularly interresting is this line:
    Received: from [61.232.226.25] (helo=66.227.76.132) by mercury.nocdirect.com...

    The portion that says helo= is what the server identified itself as. Basically, in the SMTP protocol, a server (or client) identifies itself a server by saying "Hello, I'm 123.45.67.89." (If you read the comments in the SMTP transmission, the receiving server usually says "Nice to meet you, 123.45.67.89," too.) Anyway, the server doesn't have to identify itself correctly, and in this case, the mercury smtp server figured out that it was connected to the IP address in the [] (the one registered to APNIC).

    Exactly what's going on here I don't know. It could be forged headers of some sort, or a compromised box at one or both of the two organizations, or something totally different.

    --Jason
    Jason Pitoniak
    Interbrite Communications
    www.interbrite.com www.kodiakskorner.com

  8. #8
    JPC Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    18
    D'oh! I got the helo and the bracketed IP addy mixed up. Thanks for the correction. *breathes a sigh of relief*

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •