Welcome to the JaguarPC Community
JaguarPC
Sales: (888) 338-5261
Support: (888)-551-3050
Results 1 to 6 of 6

This is a discussion on Dedicated IP address which is listed in spam block lists in the VPS & Dedicated forum
I recently ordered a dedicated IP address from sales and i was promptly assigned one (5 to be specific, since the come in packs of ...

  1. #1
    Loyal Client thisisit3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    642

    Exclamation Dedicated IP address which is listed in spam block lists

    I recently ordered a dedicated IP address from sales and i was promptly assigned one (5 to be specific, since the come in packs of 5).

    Unfortunately, the whole net block of this IP address was previously given to a spammer, which is listed in some famous block lists.

    Here is what they had to say about the subject after i emailed them:

    You are an innocent party that has been included in a wider listing policy
    because your provider is happy to host spammer(s) that have spammed a SORBS spamtrap or admin. If you are part of a wider netblock that is blocked you are not required to pay the SORBS 'fine' as the entry was not generated because of your actions,however your netblock will not be removed until your upstream removes the spammers. They will then need to contact SORBS themselves to inform us of these changes. There is nothing you can do yourself to have this listing changed or removed from SORBS.

    FYI : Looking at your providers track record the chances of them
    providing you a clean IP address are very slim , I would be asking them
    for a refund as they have sold you damaged goods.
    I know the above sounds a bit harsh, but i don't want to open silly support tickets asking for... i don't know what i should ask for really.

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Loyal Client
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    1,647
    Jag doesn't allow spammers, I believe SORBS has been referred to several times on the boards as a group of extortionists. That said, I don't really know what to tell you :-/

  3. #3
    Loyal Client the_ancient's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3,386
    SORBS like 99.9% of these "blacklists" or nothing more than extortion rackets, they are WORSE than the spammers themselves, and anyone using these list should have their computers severely attacked and destroyed..


    F'um
    -------------------------
    the_ancient
    MP Technology Group

  4. #4
    Techinical Support Rep.
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    526
    Hi thisisit3,

    Could you please provide the IP addresses via PM and I'll take a look and see what I can do.
    I do work for JaguarPC. If you do need help please provide your ticket number (this isn't sensitive information).

    If I'm not active on the forum please open a ticket instead of PMing me. If you think the issue requires access to your server please open a ticket.

  5. #5
    JPC Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    166
    You are 100% on your BLOCK ISSUE. I have had this three times due to large number of spammers from JAG, they block the entire segment. THis happened with AT&T, COMCAST, EARTHLINK and NOW GoDaddy (SecureServer.Net). I as able to get all my GoDaddy to unblock my address.

    See here: Landis Holding IP Sement being BLOCKED as Spammers

  6. #6
    the Windlord Gwaihir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,562
    CPUBUM, this is an old thread. The recent topic on SORBS is here:
    Jag netblock blacklisted by SORBS
    Regards,

    Wim Heemskerk
    ---
    Visit MeCCG.net - Cardgaming in J.R.R. Tolkien's Middle-earth
    And Gwaihir.net - The Middle-earth CCG store

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •