Welcome to the JaguarPC Community
JaguarPC
Sales: (888) 338-5261
Support: (888)-551-3050
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

This is a discussion on Jag netblock blacklisted by SORBS in the VPS & Dedicated forum
Several of our dedicated IP addresses are listed in SORBS, apparently, a whole netblock used by Jag was recently listed in the SORBS blacklist: Netblock: ...

  1. #1
    Loyal Client thisisit3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    642

    Jag netblock blacklisted by SORBS

    Several of our dedicated IP addresses are listed in SORBS, apparently, a whole netblock used by Jag was recently listed in the SORBS blacklist:


    Netblock: 69.73.128.0/18 (69.73.128.0-69.73.191.255)
    Record Updated: Tue Mar 31 03:54:11 2009 GMT


    I contacted support and they said they are aware of the problem and to... wait, which I did, but the netblock is still blacklisted.

    Any suggestions what to do next?

    PS:
    i've already used the "de-list" feature in the SORBS web site.

  2. #2
    JPC Dream Team JPC-Tracie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    390
    If you contacted support, they've likely done what they need to do to get it unblocked, and we have to just wait until it's done.
    ~Tracie

    Director of Client Operations
    JaguarPC.com

  3. #3
    Wookiee JPC-Les's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    The Exogorths belly
    Posts
    1,265
    Yes we are still working with sorbs to get it de-listed.
    (pm) | (email) Les, Chief Operations Officer

    Need a Manager?
    (pm) | (email) David, Customer Service Manager
    (pm) | (email) Masood, Chief Technical Officer

    Helpful Links
    Knowledge Base | Network Status | Current Specials

  4. #4
    all about nothing! Frank Broughton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2,158
    Any status report?


    Netblock: 69.73.128.0/18 (69.73.128.0-69.73.191.255)
    Record Created: Fri Nov 14 05:04:37 2008 GMT
    Record Updated: Tue Mar 31 03:54:11 2009 GMT
    Additional Information: spam support service myactivateonline.com. 14400 IN A 69.73.139.69
    Currently active and flagged to be published in DNS
    If you wish to request a delisting please do so through the Support System.

  5. #5
    all about nothing! Frank Broughton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2,158
    Remember these guys: http://www.uceprotect.net/en/rblchec...=69.73.144.xxx ??

    They have us listed still too.

  6. #6
    all about nothing! Frank Broughton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2,158
    bump....

    any status?

    still getting emails kicked back with permanent errors because of being on the spamhaus.org listing.

  7. #7
    Loyal Client thisisit3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    642
    The uceprotect block list is a scam, they blackmail people to get them delisted.

    Unfortunately, the SORBS list is very real and very legitimate (i use it myself on all our servers), we are still blocked and this is causing serious issues.

    Jag, any luck getting the Jag netblock delisted?

  8. #8
    all about nothing! Frank Broughton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2,158
    I agree this needs to get rectified and as fast as possible.

  9. #9
    Wookiee JPC-Les's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    The Exogorths belly
    Posts
    1,265
    We are still trying to work it out with SORBS they have decided one of our clients is a spammer because they have an affiliate program. They are currently refusing to delist us until we terminate the client. This client has been with us 3 years and simply isn't a spammer. They had a webform that was abused by spammers but SORBS doesn't care.

    If you feel SORBS is legit then I suppose that's your right but in my experience and others I've spoke with find them completely unreasonable.

    It's looking like we have to terminate a longstanding good client because SORBS doesn't like a business model that includes paying for referrals. You guys agree with this?
    (pm) | (email) Les, Chief Operations Officer

    Need a Manager?
    (pm) | (email) David, Customer Service Manager
    (pm) | (email) Masood, Chief Technical Officer

    Helpful Links
    Knowledge Base | Network Status | Current Specials

  10. #10
    CTO JPC-Masood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Jaguar Servers
    Posts
    2,070
    This is not the first time and we are not the only one having this issue with SORBS. I don't understand why any mail administrator in his/her right mind would use SORBS for blacklist. We don't. If we had done that it would have created a chaos for our clients losing legit emails from left and right.

    Masood N. | Chief Technical Officer
    JaguarPC.com


    Helpful Links
    Knowledge Base | Network Status

  11. #11
    Wookiee JPC-Les's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    The Exogorths belly
    Posts
    1,265
    Quote Originally Posted by Frank Broughton View Post
    bump....

    any status?

    still getting emails kicked back with permanent errors because of being on the spamhaus.org listing.
    Is spamhaus a typo? I did a check for your VPS IP in their lookup tool and it's not listed in spamhaus. Or has this already been solved? TO my knowledge only SORBS and UCEPROTECT are the only ones listing any of our addresses.

    BTW spamhaus is my preferred list. Those guys know how to run a list.
    (pm) | (email) Les, Chief Operations Officer

    Need a Manager?
    (pm) | (email) David, Customer Service Manager
    (pm) | (email) Masood, Chief Technical Officer

    Helpful Links
    Knowledge Base | Network Status | Current Specials

  12. #12
    Ron
    Ron is offline
    Loyal Client
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    7,312
    Quote Originally Posted by JPC-Les View Post
    It's looking like we have to terminate a longstanding good client because SORBS doesn't like a business model that includes paying for referrals. You guys agree with this?
    Hmmm, good question...

    IF the client has a policy that terminates affiliates for spamming, then no. Otherwise, the referral program can lead to huge amounts of spam generated for the purpose of getting "referrals" with an affiliate-id. For instance, Amazon.com did a pretty good job in preventing affiliates from sending spam emails and such... they just don't tolerate it.
    Good luck

  13. #13
    Yeah, I know a LOT! Vin DSL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona Uplands
    Posts
    10,775
    Quote Originally Posted by thisisit3 View Post
    [T]he SORBS list is very real and very legitimate (i use it myself on all our servers), we are still blocked and this is causing serious issues.
    LoL!

    Sounds kinda hypocritical, holding others to a standard YOU can't meet - then complaining about it!

    What now, bitch?
    DISCLAIMER Any resemblance between the views expressed above and those of the owners and operators of this system is purely coincidental. Any resemblance between these views and my own are non-deterministic. The existence of Vin DSL is questionable. The existence of views in the absence of anyone to hold them is problematic. The existence of the reader is left as an exercise in the second-order coefficient.

    No Guts, No Story! VinDSL © 2010

  14. #14
    Yeah, I know a LOT! Vin DSL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona Uplands
    Posts
    10,775
    Quote Originally Posted by JPC-Masood View Post
    I don't understand why any mail administrator in his/her right mind would use SORBS for blacklist...
    Right on!!!

    These cowards don't have the balls to blacklist Gmail & Yahoo!

    That's why I use them for important mails...
    DISCLAIMER Any resemblance between the views expressed above and those of the owners and operators of this system is purely coincidental. Any resemblance between these views and my own are non-deterministic. The existence of Vin DSL is questionable. The existence of views in the absence of anyone to hold them is problematic. The existence of the reader is left as an exercise in the second-order coefficient.

    No Guts, No Story! VinDSL © 2010

  15. #15
    all about nothing! Frank Broughton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2,158
    Quote Originally Posted by JPC-Les View Post
    Is spamhaus a typo? I did a check for your VPS IP in their lookup tool and it's not listed in spamhaus. Or has this already been solved? TO my knowledge only SORBS and UCEPROTECT are the only ones listing any of our addresses.

    BTW spamhaus is my preferred list. Those guys know how to run a list.
    Les, I am checking the email that keeps getting kicked back to me.

    PM sent.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •