Welcome to the JaguarPC Community
JaguarPC
Sales: (888) 338-5261
Support: (888)-551-3050
Results 1 to 2 of 2

This is a discussion on BFD and Google IP's in the VPS & Dedicated forum
Hi, I have got an e-mail from BFD that says it blocked the IP 74.125.92.163. I did a whois search ( http://ws.arin.net/whois/ ) for that ...

  1. #1
    Loyal Client
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    14

    Question BFD and Google IP's

    Hi,

    I have got an e-mail from BFD that says it blocked the IP 74.125.92.163.

    I did a whois search (http://ws.arin.net/whois/) for that IP and all that ip range belongs to Google (74.125.0.0 - 74.125.255.255 )

    The ip was trying to do login to e-mail accounts in the server for one of the hosted domains in my VPS.

    It's ok to keep blocking the Google IP's ? because I don't know if it's a normal behavior for a google bot or is something else.

  2. #2
    Community Leader jason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    6,003
    Define normal. In most cases Google wouldn't be probing your server looking for email accounts. On the other hand, GMail does provide the ability to access mail from external accounts within the GMail interface. Perhaps you or one of your users set that feature up for an account on your server, later changed a password, and now Google is trying, unsuccessfully, to access that account. After a certain number of failed logins BFD probably picked up on it and blocked the IP.

    --Jason
    Jason Pitoniak
    Interbrite Communications
    www.interbrite.com www.kodiakskorner.com

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •