Welcome to the JaguarPC Community
JaguarPC
Sales: (888) 338-5261
Support: (888)-551-3050
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

This is a discussion on My VPS is sending spam? How to trace? in the VPS & Dedicated forum
Hi, My VPS is supposedly sending spam from somewhere, as it was reported to spamcop... The headers do show my the IP address of my ...

  1. #1
    JPC Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    11

    Question My VPS is sending spam? How to trace?

    Hi,
    My VPS is supposedly sending spam from somewhere, as it was reported to spamcop... The headers do show my the IP address of my server (69.73.159.169). I'm not an expert and the maillog that I've checked doesn't show any unusual activity... Last month tech support supposedly locked things down. Is there any other way I can tell what script, user, or domain/whatever send this out? Tech support told me to contact spamcop for more info, but can't find any links to contact someone... Below is all the info I have, any advice is appreciated as I don't want my IP blacklisted all over the place!
    Thanks,
    Scott
    ---------------------
    Return-Path: <Garfunkl49@msn.com>
    Received: from jag.northwindnh.com (jag.northwindnh.com [69.73.159.169])
    by kbns.zonk.pl (8.12.10/8.12.10) with SMTP id n61N6Qv1002317
    for <x>; Thu, 2 Jul 2009 01:06:30 +0200
    Received: from wubdtqtd (13.202.110.82)
    by jag.northwindnh.com; Wed, 1 Jul 2009 19:06:13 -0400
    Date: Wed, 1 Jul 2009 19:06:13 -0400
    From: =?koi8-r?B?VmljIFNhbmNo?= <Garfunkl49@msn.com>
    X-Mailer: WebMail_
    Reply-To: =?koi8-r?B?VmljIFNhbmNo?= <Garfunkl49@msn.com>
    X-Priority: 2 (High)
    Message-ID: <2640_______________5136@msn.com>
    To: =?koi8-r?B?TWljaGFsIFR5cmFsYQ==?= <x>
    Subject: =?koi8-r?B?RGVhciBNaWNoYWwgVHlyYWxh?=
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    Content-Type: multipart/mixed;
    boundary="----------C78A5ADAFB4E3F"View entire message
    Parsing header:
    0: Received: from jag.northwindnh.com (jag.northwindnh.com [69.73.159.169]) by kbns.zonk.pl (8.12.10/8.12.10) with SMTP id n61N6Qv1002317 for <x>; Thu, 2 Jul 2009 01:06:30 +0200
    Hostname verified: jag.northwindnh.com
    zonk.pl received mail from sending system 69.73.159.169


    1: Received: from wubdtqtd (13.202.110.82) by jag.northwindnh.com; Wed, 1 Jul 2009 19:06:13 -0400
    No unique hostname found for source: 13.202.110.82

    Possible forgery. Supposed receiving system not associated with any of your mailhosts
    Will not trust anything beyond this header

    Tracking message source: 69.73.159.169:
    Routing details for 69.73.159.169
    [refresh/show] Cached whois for 69.73.159.169 : abuse@jaguarpc.com
    Using abuse net on abuse@jaguarpc.com
    abuse net jaguarpc.com = abuse@jaguarpc.com
    Using best contacts abuse@jaguarpc.com
    Message is 19 hours old
    69.73.159.169 not listed in dnsbl.njabl.org ( 127.0.0.8 )
    69.73.159.169 not listed in dnsbl.njabl.org ( 127.0.0.9 )
    69.73.159.169 not listed in cbl.abuseat.org
    69.73.159.169 not listed in dnsbl.sorbs.net
    69.73.159.169 not listed in accredit.habeas.com
    69.73.159.169 not listed in plus.bondedsender.org
    69.73.159.169 not listed in iadb.isipp.com

    Finding links in message body
    Recurse multipart:
    Parsing HTML part

    Resolving link obfuscation
    http://kalbosperformancecycle.com/index/?unsubscribe
    http://kalbosperformancecycle.com/index

    Reports regarding this spam have already been sent:
    Re: 69.73.159.169 (Administrator of network where email originates)
    Reportid: 4322518448 To: abuse@jaguarpc.com
    Re: http://kalbosperformancecycle.com/index (Administrator of network hosting website referenced in spam)
    Reportid: 4322518494 To: abuse@theplanet.com
    Re: http://kalbosperformancecycle.com/index/?unsubscribe (Administrator of network hosting website referenced in spam)
    Reportid: 4322518505 To: abuse@theplanet.com

    If reported today, reports would be sent to:
    Re: 69.73.159.169 (Administrator of network where email originates)

    abuse@jaguarpc.com

  2. #2
    CTO JPC-Masood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Jaguar Servers
    Posts
    2,062
    You can open a support ticket from the client dashboard at https://secure.jaguarpc.com/clients

    Masood N. | Chief Technical Officer
    JaguarPC.com


    Helpful Links
    Knowledge Base | Network Status

  3. #3
    CTO JPC-Masood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Jaguar Servers
    Posts
    2,062
    If you are trying to contact spamcop, it won't help probably. I see you have cPanel on your server. Please contact support to activate SMTP tweak to block all direct smtp connections from your server. You also need to audit all your scripts as someone has remote access to your server through some security hole and is sending direct mails to remote servers.

    Masood N. | Chief Technical Officer
    JaguarPC.com


    Helpful Links
    Knowledge Base | Network Status

  4. #4
    JPC Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    11
    Thanks, I did create a support ticket but after going back and forth was told to contact them (spamcop) for more header info and am stuck there... I was told they did a tweak last month to prohibit direct emails but it still appears to be happening. Is there any way I can determine what scripts are sending out? Is there any way to log every time an email is sent out? Obviously everything looks fine in /var/log/maillog... I'm not really sure how I could audit... Thanks again for your help,
    Scott

  5. #5
    CTO JPC-Masood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Jaguar Servers
    Posts
    2,062
    The headers in that email do not show any mail server activity on your server. It just shows one line with your IP and that is on the receiving end of mail server. When email is sent by any mail server it adds timestamp and details from where it received the email. On cPanel server running exim, it will also have a mail ID in the header.

    This means two things: (a) the spammer is using direct socket connection to deliver emails (b) the report is fake (yes it can happen sometimes).

    In case of (a) there won't be any logs unless you create an iptable rule to log port 25 activity. But if you have the smtp tweak in place and have verified that it does block smtp connections from anything other than mail server, then (b) is the only choice. You can check with support if they can find any report from spamcop on this IP. We'll have the link to respond to spamcop regarding this report and can contest that our server does not allow direct smtp socket connections and there is no mail server activity, so this report is not valid.

    Masood N. | Chief Technical Officer
    JaguarPC.com


    Helpful Links
    Knowledge Base | Network Status

  6. #6
    JPC Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    11

    Smile Found it... Thanks!

    Thanks again for all of your help and expertise. I'm rather embarrassed to say that there was indeed a script that somehow got uploaded into my OWN cgi-bin directory that was sending out spams. Only way I figured it out was looking in /var/log/messages and /var/log/messages.1 and found an extreme amount of FTP activity on my user account which didn't make sense. If only I knew how someone got a hold of my password to log in...
    I have learned though when I get a spam complaint it's probably 99.9% true that my server is the culprit vs. something being spoofed somewhere...

    Thanks again,
    Scott

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts